Trapped in the Closet: The Man Cave

 

UPDATE (4/3/11): Looks like Kobolds Ate My Baby! won the vote, so I’ll be playing this next. I”ll share the experience in a future post — hopefully not too far into the future.

*****

Behold my game closet (well, two sides of it). Some call it my man cave, but half the stuff in the closet is my wife’s so it isn’t much of a Fortress of Solitude. It’s packed full of games though, way more than I’ve ever actually played.

I really want to make an effort to play most of what’s in here, but I thought of a fun way to do so. I’m always a fan of audience participation, so I ask you, our faithful readers, what game should I put on the table next. I’ve selected three games, all very different from one another, and I’ll put them up to a poll. Let’s meet our contestants.

Kobolds Ate My Baby!

Kobolds Ate My Baby! is a silly RPG where the players take the role of every DM’s favorite cannon fodder. It has great features like the Kobold Horrible Death Chart and art by John Kovalic. I  made one attempt to play KAMB!, but it was a failure. I was still pretty new to RPGs, so its “simple” dice mechanic, the BEER system, went a little over my head. But I reread the rules the other night, and I think I finally get it. I’ll also have a decent group to play it with, and not one sole Kobold as in my last attempt.

Also pictured: Doctor Who – Adventures In Time and Space. This will probably find its way into a future installment of Trapped in the Closet.

Scotland Yard

I hear this game is a classic, and I found it at the Salvation Army for $3. I opened it once to make sure it had all of its pieces, and then I opened it again to boil those pieces. If that sounds weird to you, I did it because the player pawns are working whistles. A very cute idea for a game where you play as London cops, but it’s also ultra gross. Still, it looks like a fun detective games, and I know I’ll use my whistle when I catch the fugitive Mister X.

Also pictured: Samurai Swords. It’s a great looking Risk-like game, but I’ve always been too intimidated to play it. There is a lot going on in feudal Japan.

Primordial Soup

This game belongs to my evolution loving, DNA sequencing, mad scientist of a wife. She bought this game when we first started getting into board games, but she never found anyone who would be interested enough to try it. I would play it with her, but Primordial Soup is one of those annoying games that requires at least three players. I don’t really know much more than that, however. I never really looked too closely at it, but I think Primordial Soup is a game I’ll need to open eventually.

Also pictured: The Primordial Soup expansion. As if we’ll ever play the base game first.

Comments
3 Responses to “Trapped in the Closet: The Man Cave”
  1. Jonathan says:

    My real vote is for Samurai Swords

  2. David says:

    I’m sure it is! It was almost up for a vote, but I wanted to keep it to three. It can be a choice next time. Or we can just play it soon if you really wanted to.

  3. Christopher says:

    Ahhh Primordial Soup is my favourite game at the moment! Feels a bit like the first section from that computer game “Spore” out a few years ago. I’m sure your wife will love it – as your family of little creatures develop (purchase) different genes/abilities, the combination of those abilities effectively places them into different ecological niches.

    Luckily I never have any problem getting 4 players (the “as designed” number for the game) but unfortunately the game takes us 3-4 hours to play, so that limits its appearance. There’s a buggy computer version around with AI opponents having fast turns – that reduces the time to half an hour!

    I gather the expansion isn’t so popular.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

