Party On! – Hex Hex XL

We don’t review a lot of party games at GFG because we’re just to cool for that. Well, that’s not entirely true, but I do carry a certain prejudice against party games. Occasionally a game will come around that pulls me out of my shell, and I have a good time. I played a couple of party games over Super Bowl weekend, so I figured I would share some of my thoughts on them. I’ll be posting reviews on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday this week.

Hex Hex XL is the latest edition of Smirk and Dagger’s card game. It includes the base game, as well as several expansions. It reminded me of a classy Fluxx or We Didn’t Playtest This at All.

A hex starts in play, and the first player who gets hexed plays a card in reaction to it. Generally, these cards instruct you to pass the card to the left or right  or deflect it across the table. Other cards will do things like force a hex to always pass left or cause the hex to split into two. The players who get left with a hex when it comes to a stop lose points, and the last players to move a hex gain points. It’s a lot like how musical chairs must be played at Hogwarts.

I didn’t think the base game was fun at first, but then there are certain points where players can make up new rules. This is where the game shines, although it becomes chaotic. For example, someone made the rule that you had to say right when you are really passing left and left when you are passing right. It becomes much more social and fun in these phases of the game.

The cards in the game are nice, and as I said, they look classier than other games in this style. I think it was the gold text on the black cards that did it. There are also wooden hex sticks which add a dexterous layer to the game as players have to grab them as quickly as possible when a hex sticks card is played, although I wouldn’t recommend them if you were playing Hex Hex as a drinking game. The game gets dangerous with five dudes swinging their arms across a table full of sticks, cards, and glasses of vanilla vodka.

I doubt Hex Hex XL would work if you tried to play it as a serious card dueling game, but it will be fun if everyone you’re playing with is in a silly mood. It definitely works as a party game, although you might not judge that from the box.

 

Leave a Reply

