Party On! – Train of Thought

We don’t review a lot of party games at GFG because we’re just to cool for that. Well, that’s not entirely true, but I do carry a certain prejudice against party games. Occasionally a game will come around that pulls me out of my shell, and I have a good time. I played a couple of party games over Super Bowl weekend, so I figured I would share some of my thoughts on them. I’ll be posting reviews on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday this week.

Of the three party games I played on Super Bowl Sunday, Train of Thought by Tasty Minstrel Games was the best. It was the most innovative of the three games, and frankly, we had the most fun with it. We played it several times over that weekend, and we made sure we introduced it to everyone that swung by. And now I recommend it to you.

Train of Thought begins with a player being assigned a word that everyone knows, and then they have to use that word in a three word clue to get the other players to guess it. Then that word is used as the basis for the next word. What happens though, is that every player might guess incorrectly in the first round, which means that the active player needs to use one of their incorrect guesses in the next clue. I like to think of this as the train of thought going off the rails.

For an example of what I mean, one of my clues led to the word “Baby.” Then I had to lead the word “Baby” to “Success.” I tried to say “Baby grows up,” and one of the incorrect guesses was “Boy.” Undeterred, I followed with “Boy graduates school.” I got “College” in response. Eventually, I led the baby all the way to becoming the CEO of a company before someone said success.

I don’t really want to go through what it took to get people to say “Baby,” but let’s just say it involved the clue “nipple in mouth.”

The game isn’t usually so convoluted though, it’s just fun when it is. Sometimes there is a great flow where you mind meld with another player who gets clue after clue right away. The game is on a timer, so your score improves the most when you can get this synergy happening.

Most of our games were too chaotic to keep track of score though. Both the presenting player and the player who guesses correctly earn points. When so many clues are resolved quickly, it is hard for the for the guessing players to keep track of their scores at times. This isn’t a big problem if all the players are focused, but the game becomes so silly and fun that we distracted ourselves from the actual goal. I imagine that isn’t really a bad thing.

So as you consider how you want to spend your Friday evening, consider taking a ride on Train of Thought.

Comments
3 Responses to “Party On! – Train of Thought”
  1. designersen says:

    Hi there – Thanks a lot for playing the game and writing such a great review! We appreciate any and all feedback. Our next offering, “Belfort”, may be more of your standard fare – it’s a worker placement, resource management game. I hope you get a chance to play that as well. It’ll be released by Tasty Minstrel Games in Q2 2011. GAME ON!

  2. Seth Jaffee says:

    Great review! It sounds like you had a great time with Train of Thought 🙂

    As for score, I was surprised to hear you had trouble. When we play we (guessers) simply grab a card when we get one right. The Conductor doesn’t need to worry about it, because at the end of their turn they simply keep all the cards they got through and that’s their score.

    I hope you keep having a good time with it!

    – Seth

  3. David says:

    We tried to use that method for keeping score, but some of our games were too chaotic for us to keep score properly. It was more our fault than anything, and it was only a problem with larger groups.

    Thanks for stopping by the site! I’m looking forward to your next releases.

Leave a Reply

